open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution

← Back Focus circular economy  

Amman commits to the sustainable management of water


Jordan ranks as the world’s fourth water-poorest country, with only 157 m3 per capita per year. In this context, the As Samra wastewater treatment plant is a key element of the country’s strategy to preserve water.


The As-Samra wastewater treatment plant (1) located in Jordan is a key component of the strategy adopted by the national authorities to protect the country’s water resources. Jordan is the fourth most arid country in the world, and is faced with rising water stress. The plant, built and operated by SUEZ, processes more than 70% of all wastewater treated in the country and covers 10% of agriculture’s needs for water.

The plant is almost energy self-sufficient, thanks to the hydraulic turbines installed upstream (2) and downstream (4) of the facility, and the co-generators (3), fuelled by the biogas produced by sludge digestion. The plant produces almost 80% of the electricity required by the treatment processes, while the remaining 20% comes from the national grid.


As-Samra wastewater treatment plant – Credits: GoogleTMearth


This article was published in the fourth issue of open_resource magazine: “The circular economy era

You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Focus économie circulaire  

Amman s’engage pour une gestion durable de l’eau

25.09.2017

Avec 157m3 d’eau par an et par habitant, la Jordanie est le 4ème pays le plus pauvre en eau du monde. Focus sur la station de traitement des eaux usées d’As Samra, un élément clef de la stratégie mise en œuvre par les autorités jordaniennes pour préserver la ressource en eau.


La station de traitement des eaux usées d’As-Samra (1), en Jordanie, est un élément clé de la stratégie mise en œuvre par les autorités nationales pour préserver la ressource en eau du pays. En effet, la Jordanie est le quatrième pays le plus aride au monde et fait face à un stress hydrique croissant. Construite et exploitée par SUEZ, la station prend en charge plus de 70 % de l’ensemble des eaux usées traitées dans le pays et fournit 10 % des besoins en eau de l’agriculture.

Des turbines hydrauliques installées en amont (2) et en aval (4) de la station, et des cogénérateurs (3) alimentés par du biogaz issu de la digestion des boues permettent à la station d’être quasiment autosuffisante en énergie. Cette dernière produit près de 80 % de l’électricité nécessaire à ses besoins pour le traitement, les 20 % restants provenant du réseau national.


Station de traitement des eaux usées d'As-Samra

Station de traitement des eaux usées d’As-Samra – Crédits : GoogleTMearth


Cet article a été publié dans le quatrième numéro d’open_resource magazine : « L’ère de l’économie circulaire »





Vous aimerez aussi