open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Solutions  

AMOR: collaborative waste management in Mozambique

16.05.2017

Created in 2009 in Maputo, the capital city of Mozambique, AMOR (Associação MOçambicana de Reciclagem ) has developed a nationwide network to structure the waste recycling sector and, at the same time, help the underprivileged populations of Mozambique. Since 2012, the non-profit organisation’s work has received the support of the Fonds SUEZ initiatives.

For International Recycling Day, Antoine Belon, executive director of AMOR, explains to open_resource this social and sustainable model of recycling.



What projects is AMOR running in Mozambique?

Antoine Belon : AMOR has 4 key fields of action.
The first focuses on facilities for recycling – we install and maintain what we call “Eco-points”, which are centres where people can take their recyclable waste.

The second focuses on raising awareness through a number of activities, including an environmental education programme in schools. This programme works to provide schools with Eco-points and set up environment clubs to teach children about recycling. Participating schools win “green points” for the amount of material they recycle. These points can then be converted into educational and sports equipment. Since the start of the programme, 35 schools have benefited from the system.

The third line of action focuses on actual waste recovery with a focus on innovation. In Maputo and Matola for example, we realised that organic waste was not being recovered. So we came up with the idea to transform unused biomass into charcoal briquettes, which can be used for cooking, and into charcoal powder, which farmers can use to fertilise their soil. As over 90% of Mozambicans living in towns and cities cook with charcoal, the advantages are two-fold – we are reducing the quantity of organic waste produced every day and we are helping to reduce deforestation. Every day 4,200 tonnes of wood are needed to supply just two towns with enough charcoal. We offer farmers charcoal powder made using the same process (Biochar), which fertilises sandy soil and helps it retain more water.
Another example of our work in waste recovery is the collection of 200 litres of used cooking oil from restaurants in Maputo, which we then convert into biodiesel. Our trucks now run on this clean fuel!

Finally, the fourth field of action is to create a favourable environment for recycling on a national scale. To achieve this, we have set up a work group with the Ministry of the Environment and are currently working on Extended Producer Responsibility measures.

Can you tell us more about the Eco-point system?

A.B : In 2010, we installed shipping containers in Mozambique’s urban areas. These containers have been turned into recycling centres for local people to dispose of or buy recyclable waste. Individuals, shops and companies can take their waste to these Eco-points and, for some types of waste, collect compensation. The Eco-point manager then sorts the waste before selling it on to the waste recovery sector. To begin with, all types of waste were accepted at Eco-points but now only waste with genuine economic value, such as glass bottles, metal cans, paper, cardboard and hard plastic, is accepted. As well as its environmental benefits, the system has a strong social dimension – local underprivileged populations have got involved in the project and have been trained to manage Eco-points. The Fonds SUEZ initiatives is providing its support for this project.

We also work with other partners in Mozambique’s recycling industry, including Pagalata, the national brewery CDM, Vulcano and Flexivel Plastica in Beira. These companies all purchase recyclable waste from our Eco-points.

Today, we have 11 community Eco-points in the capital city, Maputo, which has a population of over 1.1 million; and 5 in Beira, a port and the country’s third largest city with almost 650,000 inhabitants. These Eco-points are supported by the Fonds SUEZ initiatives. But other collection points have been set up independently. Indeed, since 2013 we have been working to encourage autonomy within the system, giving Eco-point managers more independence. For example, the microentreprise RLR – Recolha de Lixo Reciclavel (recyclable waste collection) – founded by a former AMOR employee, unites independent managers and provides a fleet of tricycles to collect recyclable waste from households and companies. We only ask for a record of the volume of waste they collect so that we can monitor the flow of recyclable waste.

What impact has this project had and what are your goals for the future?

A.B : The impact has been very positive. For us, the key indicator is the number of independent Eco-points. On a social level, we have created jobs and given people living in vulnerable situations new opportunities. We have also noticed that awareness about environmental responsibilities is increasing in the Mozambican society. Of the 500 tonnes of waste recycled every month in Mozambique, 60 tonnes pass through Eco-points.

Today, our role as a non-profit organisation is also to appeal for a legal framework to secure the economic activity of Eco-points and all those involved in the recycling sector.


****
The Fonds SUEZ initiatives supports concrete actions to sustainably develop access to essential services (water, sanitation and waste) for underprivileged populations in developing countries, in addition to supporting the integration of the most vulnerable populations in France through education and employment. Discover more information about the Fonds SUEZ initiatives here





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Solutions  

AMOR : une gestion collaborative des déchets au Mozambique

16.05.2017

Créée en 2009, l’association AMOR (Associação MOçambicana de Reciclagem) établie à Maputo, la capitale du Mozambique, développe un réseau national permettant de structurer la filière de recyclage des déchets tout en aidant des populations défavorisées. Son action est soutenue depuis 2012 par le Fonds SUEZ initiatives.

A l’occasion de la Journée Mondiale du Recyclage, Antoine Belon, directeur exécutif d’AMOR, nous en dit plus sur ce modèle de recyclage social et durable.



Quels sont les projets portés par l’association AMOR au Mozambique ?

Antoine Belon : Au sein de l’association AMOR, nous avons désormais 4 axes d’actions.
Le premier est orienté vers les infrastructures de recyclage : dans ce cadre, nous installons et entretenons ce que nous appelons des « Éco-points », qui sont des centres d’apports volontaires de déchets recyclables.

Le second porte sur la sensibilisation avec, entre autres activités, un programme d’éducation environnementale à destination des écoles. Ce programme vise à mettre à leur disposition des Éco-points et à créer des clubs de l’environnement pour sensibiliser les enfants au recyclage. En fonction de la quantité de matière recyclée, les écoles participantes gagnent des « points verts » qui sont convertis en matériel scolaire et sportif. Depuis le début du programme, 35 écoles en ont bénéficié.

Le troisième axe concerne la valorisation pratique des déchets avec un focus sur l’innovation. À Maputo et à Matola par exemple, nous nous sommes rendus compte que les déchets organiques n’étaient pas valorisés. Nous avons alors eu l’idée de transformer cette biomasse inutilisée en briquettes de charbon, qui peuvent être utilisées pour cuisiner, et en poudre de charbon, qui peut être utilisée en agriculture pour augmenter la fertilité des sols. Comme plus de 90 % des Mozambicains urbains cuisinent au charbon de bois, l’avantage est double: nous réduisons le volume de déchets organiques produits chaque jour et nous contribuons à la réduction de la déforestation. En effet, 4 200 tonnes de bois sont nécessaires au quotidien pour fournir ces deux villes en charbon. Pour les cultivateurs, nous proposons de la poudre de charbon issue du même processus (Biochar) qui fertilise les sols sableux tout en augmentant leur capacité de rétention.
Un autre exemple : nous collectons l’équivalent de 200 litres d’huiles alimentaires usagées dans les restaurants de Maputo pour en faire du biodiesel. C’est désormais grâce à ce carburant propre que roulent nos camions !

Enfin, le quatrième pilier de notre action est de créer un environnement favorable au recyclage à l’échelle nationale. Pour ce faire, nous avons créé un groupe de travail avec le Ministère en charge de l’Environnement et nous travaillons actuellement sur les mécanismes de Responsabilité Elargie du Producteur.

En quoi consiste le système d’Eco-points ?

A.B : A partir de 2010, nous avons installé des containers maritimes dans les zones urbaines mozambicaines pour en faire des points d’apports volontaires et d’achats de déchets recyclables. Dans ces Eco-points, des particuliers, des boutiques ou des entreprises apportent leurs déchets – certains types de déchets pouvant donner lieu à une rétribution. Une fois collectés, le gestionnaire de l’infrastructure les trie et les revend à des filières de valorisation. A l’origine, tous les types de déchets étaient acceptés mais désormais seuls les déchets ayant un réel intérêt économique sont retenus. Il s’agit par exemple des bouteilles en verre, des canettes en métal, du papier, du carton, ou encore des plastiques rigides. Au-delà des bénéfices environnementaux, ce système intègre une forte dimension sociale : les populations locales en grande précarité sont impliquées dans le projet et formées à la gestion de ces Eco-points. Nous sommes soutenus dans cette démarche par le Fonds SUEZ initiatives.

Nous disposons par ailleurs d’autres partenaires, qui sont actifs dans le domaine du recyclage au Mozambique : nous travaillons, entre autres, avec Pagalata, la brasserie nationale CDM, Vulcano, ou encore l’entreprise Flexivel Plastica à Beira, qui rachètent les déchets recyclables aux Ecopoints.
Aujourd’hui, il existe 11 Eco-points communautaires à Maputo, la capitale, qui représente plus de 1.1 million d’habitants ; et 5 à Beira, ville portuaire et troisième plus grosse ville du pays avec près de 650 000 habitants, soutenus par le Fonds SUEZ initiatives. Mais d’autres points de collecte se sont implantés de manière indépendante. En effet, depuis 2013 nous nous orientons vers une dynamique d’autonomisation donnant plus d’indépendance aux gestionnaires des Eco-points. Par exemple, la microentreprise RLR – Recolha de Lixo Reciclavel (Collecte de déchets recyclables), fondée par un ancien salarié d’AMOR, fédère des gestionnaires indépendants et gère une flotte de tricycles collectant les déchets recyclables auprès des particuliers et des entreprises. En contrepartie, nous demandons simplement un monitoring des quantités collectées afin d’évaluer les flux de déchets recyclables.

Quel est votre bilan sur ce projet et vos objectifs pour l’avenir ?

A.B : Le bilan est extrêmement positif. Pour nous, l’indicateur clef est l’autonomisation des Eco-points. Sur le plan social, nous avons créé des emplois et offert des opportunités nouvelles à des populations fragiles. Nous constatons également une certaine prise de conscience de la responsabilité environnementale dans la société mozambicaine. Sur les 500 tonnes de déchets recyclés dans le pays par mois, 60 tonnes transitent par les Eco-points.

Aujourd’hui notre rôle, en tant qu’association, est aussi de porter un plaidoyer pour la mise en place d’un cadre légal consolidant l’activité économique des Eco-points et des acteurs du recyclage.


****
Le Fonds SUEZ initiatives soutient des actions concrètes pour développer durablement l’accès aux services essentiels (eau, assainissement et déchets) des populations défavorisés dans les pays en développement ainsi que pour favoriser l’insertion des personnes fragilisées grâce à l’emploi et la formation en France. Découvrez plus d’information sur le Fonds SUEZ initiatives ici





Vous aimerez aussi