open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Issues  

Learn about and take part in the SUEZ Action for Water Resources call for projects (3/5)

21.12.2015

The SUEZ Working for Water call for projects, launched on 10 September 2015, invites associations, researchers, entrepreneurs and individuals to present innovative initiatives and solutions to preserve resources; the winners will receive funding and support from SUEZ experts. Project proposals must address five key challenges that have been identified. This article, the third in a series of five, explores the third issue: sharing data on water to make the information available to all.


Credit: SUEZ


Sustainable water resource management involves having a comprehensive overview of its current situation and its evolution. A key challenge to achieving this overview is collecting data about its qualitative and quantitative status, its capacity for renewal, the impact of human activities, etc. In this respect, using new technologies means that data can be both collected continuously and returned in the greatest quantity.
Sharing the available data is in fact a key challenge in several respects. Firstly, sharing the information with the public helps raise awareness around the issues of resource conservation, including giving everyone the means to better understand and better control their consumption. Giving everyone access to data on their water is one of the services offered by the site www.toutsurmoneau.fr designed by SUEZ. This platform allows everyone to find information related to the water in their city, such as the number of tests performed in the last twelve months, the nitrate or pesticide level, the mineral level, etc. In some cities, you can also find out the course, the origin or even the price of water.



The data on water can also be used in education to raise awareness about preserving it. SUEZ, in partnership with the inter-municipal association of the Cannes Basin (SICASIL), has therefore designed a serious game called “Aquacity Game”, which allows players to put themselves in the shoes of a water service manager. This management game makes people aware of the main challenges related to water in a given region by asking them to make strategic and financial decisions (investments, conservation and diversification of water resources, management of water leaks in the systems, etc.) to ensure a sustainable water service while taking into account budgetary constraints.



Lastly, sharing data on water is an important issue for research and development. This is the purpose of the European project Freshwater Information Plateform, which aims to create a solid base of shared knowledge on freshwater resources in Europe by bringing together the existing contents of various external sites, but also by giving researchers and students the opportunity to share the results of their research projects on the platform.

You can download the call for projects rules here and the application pack here.
The final selection will be made and the winner(s) announced in March 2016. The total annual budget for the call for projects is €100,000.
The jury, co-chaired by Bertrand Camus, CEO of SUEZ’s water business in France, and Serge Lepeltier, Chairman of the Académie de l’Eau and former French Minister of Ecology and Sustainable Development, will include representatives from various institutions, universities and associations, as well as leading figures from within the company.
If you have any questions, contact: programme.agir@lyonnaise-des-eaux.fr





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Enjeux  

Découvrez et participez à l’appel à projets Agir pour la Ressource en Eau de SUEZ (3/5)

21.12.2015

L’appel à projets du Programme Agir pour la Ressource en Eau, lancé le 10 septembre 2015, invite associations, chercheurs, entrepreneurs, ou encore particuliers, à présenter initiatives et solutions innovantes en matière de préservation de la ressource ; les lauréats bénéficieront d’une dotation financière et de l’accompagnement des experts de SUEZ. Cinq enjeux-clés ont été identifiés, dans le cadre desquels doivent s’inscrire les projets proposés. Cet article, troisième d’une série de cinq, explore le 3e enjeu : partager les données sur l’eau pour rendre accessibles, à tous, les informations.


Crédit: SUEZ


La gestion durable de la ressource en eau implique d’avoir une vision globale de sa situation actuelle et de son évolution. Le recueil de données sur son état qualitatif, quantitatif, ses capacités de renouvellement, l’impact des activités humaines etc est un enjeu clé pour disposer de cette vision. A ce titre, les nouvelles technologies permettent à la fois de collecter en continu ces données, mais aussi de les restituer au plus grand nombre.

Le partage des données disponibles est en effet un enjeu essentiel et ce à plusieurs égards. La diffusion d’informations au grand public tout d’abord, permet de renforcer la sensibilisation autour des enjeux de préservation de la ressource, notamment en donnant à chacun les moyens de mieux connaître et mieux contrôler ses consommations. L’accès de tous aux données sur son eau est l’un des services proposés par le site www.toutsurmoneau.fr conçu par SUEZ. Cette plateforme permet à chacun de connaître les informations liées à l’eau dans sa ville telles que le nombre d’analyses effectuées sur les douze derniers mois, la teneur en nitrates ou en pesticides, la teneur en minéraux, … mais aussi pour certaines villes, le parcours, l’origine ou encore le prix de l’eau.



La pédagogie constitue un autre moyen d’utiliser les données liées à l’eau pour sensibiliser à sa préservation. Ainsi SUEZ, en partenariat avec le syndicat intercommunal du bassin cannois (SICASIL), a conçu le serious game Aquacity Game, qui permet aux joueurs de se mettre dans la peau d’un gestionnaire de service de l’eau. Ce jeu de gestion sensibilise les habitants aux principaux enjeux liés à l’eau sur un territoire, en les invitant à prendre les décisions stratégiques et financières (investissements, protection et diversification des ressources en eau, gestion des fuites d’eau sur le réseau…) pour garantir un service de l’eau durable tout en tenant compte des impératifs budgétaires.



Enfin, le partage des données sur l’eau est un enjeu important en matière de recherche et développement. C’est l’objet du projet européen Freshwater Information Plateform, qui vise à créer une solide base de connaissances partagées sur les ressources en eau douce en Europe en agrégeant des contenus existants sur différents sites externes, mais aussi en offrant aux chercheurs et étudiants la possibilité de partager sur la plateforme les résultats de leurs projets de recherche.

Vous pouvez télécharger ici le règlement de l’appel à projets, et ici le dossier de candidature.
La sélection finale et l’annonce du/des lauréats interviendront en mars 2016. La dotation globale annuelle de l’appel à projets est de 100 000 euros.
Le jury, co-présidé par Bertrand Camus, Directeur général de l’activité eau en France de SUEZ, et Serge Lepeltier, Président de l’Académie de l’Eau et ancien Ministre de l’Écologie et du Développement durable, réunira des représentants institutionnels, universitaires et associatifs, ainsi que des personnalités internes de l’entreprise.
Pour toute question, contactez : programme.agir@lyonnaise-des-eaux.fr





Vous aimerez aussi