open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Solutions  

“Forever” bulbs symbolize fight against planned obsolescence

25.02.2015

Nowadays, quite a few of our electric appliances and electronic devices come equipped with software that becomes obsolete after only two or three years of use, never mind the fact that their hardware components are impossible to replace. Their lifespan is a third of what it was 20 years ago. But the trend is currently being reversed as innovations and initiatives are pushing toward more sustainable consumption.

Obsolescence is technological in nature when the reduction of an object’s lifespan or usage is planned. This is illustrated by the fact that such objects are impossible to take apart and repair, and replacement parts are unavailable. Consumers have become accustomed to the fact that the products they buy have a limited lifespan. An ADEME study shows that, in France, only 44% of broken products are repaired. Obsolescence can also be commercial in nature. Consumers often succumb to the effects of advertising and are persuaded to abandon a product even before it fails. This tendency to overconsume has major consequences for resource use because it exhausts raw materials, consumes energy, and generates carbon dioxide.

© Getty / Fuse

This trend toward obsolescence seems to be turning a corner, however, as the perception of consumption and waste changes. “Repair Cafés” are popping up all over the world, bringing together new converts who want to become self-sufficient and repair their own devices. Evenings are dedicated to learning how to fix a printer despite the fact that the salesman said nothing more could be done with it.

Some manufacturers also seem to be evolving toward designing more sustainable devices. One of the major contributing factors today can be found in the power of social networks, which are quick to stigmatize brands that sell products destined for early obsolescence. The Internet “democratizes sustainability,” according to François Marthaler, head of Why! Open Computing, which distributes sustainable computers supplied with illustrated repair manuals.

In response to the fact that seven billion bulbs are discarded each year throughout the world, Spain’s Benito Murros invented the IWOP bulb (“I Without OPsolescence”). More expensive than competing bulbs (34 euros), this ”forever” bulb is free of any “planned obsolescence.” It uses LED technology and can be repaired. This traditional light bulb is also very economical in terms of resource use, consuming only 3.5 watts but providing the light equivalent to a 90-100 watt bulb. By means of this symbolic innovation, Benito Murros is solidifying the struggle of the “Sin obsolescencia programada” movement he founded in Spain to combat planned obsolescence; a movement that has become a core principle of the circular economy and key element in the fight to preserve resources.

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Solutions  

Des ampoules “éternelles“, symbole de la lutte contre l’obsolescence programmée

25.02.2015

Aujourd’hui, bon nombre de nos appareils électriques ou électroniques sont dotés de logiciels qui deviennent obsolètes après deux ou trois ans d’utilisation seulement, quand il ne s’agit pas de leurs composants rendus impossible à remplacer. Leur durée de vie a été divisée par 3 en 20 ans. Une tendance en passe de s’inverser sous la pression d’innovations et initiatives en faveur d’une consommation plus durable.

L’obsolescence est d’ordre technique lorsque l’on programme une réduction de la durée de vie ou d’usage de l’objet. Cela se concrétise par l’impossibilité de démonter l’objet pour le réparer ou l’absence de disponibilité des pièces détachées. Le consommateur s’est habitué à ce qu’un produit acheté ait une durée de vie limitée : une étude de l’ADEME démontre qu’en France seulement 44% des produits hors d’usage sont réparés. L’obsolescence peut également être commerciale, lorsque le consommateur, sous l’effet de sollicitations publicitaires, est lui-même incité à abandonner l’objet avant même sa déficience. Cette incitation à la surconsommation a de lourdes conséquences sur la ressource car elle épuise les matières premières, consomme de l’énergie et génère du CO2.


© Getty / Fuse

Mais cette tendance à la dégénérescence semble s’inverser car la perception de la consommation et des déchets change. Un peu partout dans le monde, des « Repair Café » (“cafés des réparations“) se multiplient, rassemblant des néophytes souhaitant devenir autonomes pour réparer leurs objets. Des soirées sont consacrées à apprendre comment dépanner une imprimante dont le vendeur disait pourtant qu’il n’y avait plus rien à en tirer !

Certains industriels semblent également évoluer vers la conception d’appareils plus durables. La puissance des réseaux sociaux en est aujourd’hui l’un des ressorts puisqu’ils ne manquent pas de stigmatiser les marques vendant des produits rapidement obsolescents. Internet “démocratise la durabilité“ selon François Marthaler, directeur de Why ! Open computing, distributeur d’ordinateurs durables équipés de guides de réparations illustrés.

Constatant que sept milliards d’ampoules sont jetées chaque année dans le monde, l’espagnol Benito Murros a quant à lui inventé l’ampoule IWOP (“I Without OPsolescence“). D’un coût d’achat supérieur à ses concurrentes (34 euros), elle affiche pour qualité d’être “éternelle“ et “sans obsolescence programmée“. Elle utilise la technologie LED et peut être réparée. Cette ampoule classique est également très économe en termes de ressources puisque sa consommation, de 3,5 Watt, offre une luminosité équivalant à celle d’une ampoule de 90-100 Watt. Par cette innovation emblématique, Benito Murros concrétise le combat du mouvement “Sin obsolescencia programada“ qu’il a fondé en Espagne contre l’obsolescence programmée, au cœur du principe d’économie circulaire et au service de la préservation de la ressource.