open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Focus circular economy  

are you ready to recycle your cooking oil as biofuel?

25.09.2017

Turning waste into biofuel? SUEZ and TOTAL have joined forces to collect and recycle used cooking oil. Find out more about this sustainable solution.

 

Cooking oils

Credits: Adrien Galerneau

Cooking oils are used for frying, cooking, preserving food and seasoning. Once they have been used, they are simply thrown away. They can then solidify and block the sewers. In wastewater plants, the film of impervious oil that forms can asphyxiate the micro-organisms that destroy impurities. And when they end up in the bin, they can make the refuse collector’s job harder and disrupt the operation of incinerators.

To fight against this phenomenon, it’s possible to recycle the used cooking oil and transform them into biofuel. To begin with, the cooking oil is collected from private individuals, restaurants or food industry (1). It is then taken to a pre-treatment centre (2), where it is heated to 80°C (a) and filtered, in order to extract the solid residue (b). The remaining liquid is then left to settle in order to separate the water from the oil (c). The transformation into biodiesel (d) is realised in a biorefinery plant and is based mainly on esterification, a chemical reaction between oil and methanol, or on hydrogenation, a physico-chemical reaction with hydrogen. It allows to produce one litre of biodiesel from one litre of oil.

In 2016, SUEZ and Total teamed up to supply the most important French biorefinery at la Mède (France). The goal? To collect 20,000 of the 110,000 tonnes used cooking oil produced in France every year, and to recycle it as high-quality biodiesel (HVO) that is 100% usable in conventional engines (3). In comparison with fossil diesel, this biofuel also reduces CO2 emissions by 83%! Finally, SUEZ and Total have prioritised local circuits and work with socially responsible companies to collect the used cooking oil.

 

This article was published in the fourth issue of open_resource magazine: “The circular economy era





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Focus économie circulaire  

êtes-vous prêts à recycler vos huiles alimentaires en biocarburant ?

25.09.2017

Transformer un déchet en biocarburant ? En France, SUEZ et TOTAL se sont associés pour collecter et recycler les huiles alimentaires usagées. Explications sur une solution durable.


Huiles alimentaires usagées

Crédits : Adrien Galerneau


Les huiles alimentaires sont utilisées pour la friture, la cuisson, la conservation des aliments et comme assaisonnement. Une fois utilisées, elles sont simplement jetées. Présentes dans les canalisations, elles s’y figent et les obstruent. Au niveau des stations d’épuration, la pellicule d’huile imperméable qui se forme asphyxie les micro-organismes chargés d’éliminer les impuretés. Et quand elles finissent à la poubelle, elles gênent le travail des ripeurs et perturbent le fonctionnement des incinérateurs.

Pour lutter contre ce phénomène, il est possible de recycler les huiles alimentaires usagées (HAU) et de les transformer en biocarburant. Dans un premier temps, les HAU sont collectées auprès des particuliers, des restaurateurs ou des industriels de l’agroalimentaire (1). Elles sont ensuite emmenées dans un centre de prétraitement (2) où elles sont chauffées à 80 °C (a), puis filtrées pour en extraire les résidus solides (b). Le liquide restant est décanté pour séparer l’eau de l’huile (c). La transformation en biodiesel (d) est réalisée en usine de bioraffinage par estérification (réaction chimique entre l’huile et du méthanol) ou par hydrogénation (réaction physicochimique avec de l’hydrogène), ce qui permet d’obtenir 1l de biodiesel pour 1l d’huile.

En 2016, SUEZ et Total s’associent pour approvisionner la plus grande bioraffinerie française, qui sera construite sur le site de la Mède (Bouches-du-Rhône). L’objectif ? Collecter 20 000 t de HAU parmi les 110 000 produites chaque année en France et les recycler en biocarburant de haute qualité (HVO) incorporable à 100 % dans les moteurs classiques (3). Cela permet d’éviter 83 % des émissions de CO2 par rapport au diesel fossile ! Enfin, SUEZ et Total donnent la priorité aux circuits locaux et travaillent avec des entreprises sociales et solidaires pour la collecte des HAU.


Cet article a été publié dans le quatrième numéro d’open_resource magazine : « L’ère de l’économie circulaire »





Vous aimerez aussi