open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Issues  

Wastewater: a resource to be recovered

21.03.2017

“Why Wastewater?”, is the theme chosen this year for World Water Day, which takes place every year on 22 March. According to the UN, over 80% of the wastewater generated by society at the global level flows back into the ecosystem without being treated or reused, causing pollution in natural environments.
How can the volume of wastewater released into the environment be reduced? How can its reuse be encouraged? How can it be turned into a resource for cities and regions? Samuel Martin, Division Manager of the Wastewater Treatment and Recovery unit at the CIRSEE (the international water and environmental research centre), SUEZ’s Research and Expertise centre near Paris, shares his point of view.

Samuel Martin, Division Manager of the Wastewater Treatment and Recovery unit at the CIRSEE


A solution to ease the pressure on water resources

The constant and rapid growth in the world population, rampant urbanisation and climate change are all piling heavy pressure on resources. By 2050, there will be nine billion of us sharing the planet’s resources, which represents two billion more people than today. By 2030, it is estimated that 50% of the world population will be living in areas exposed to water stress or drought. So it has become urgent for us to take a new look at how we consume and produce. We must change our behaviours, for we live in a world with limited resources. Raw materials are not inexhaustible. The solution can be summed up in two words: recycling and recovery.

Three main uses: reuse, energy recovery and recovery as fertilisers.

Wastewater can be a recovered in three main ways, the first of which being the reuse of treated wastewater. Today, only 2% of the world’s wastewater is reused, mainly in agriculture and industry. Solutions do exist, but they face several obstacles: the investments needed, the perception of a risk by the population, or regulatory constraints. The reuse of wastewater is thus mainly developed in areas where water resources come under real pressure. In Spain for example, where 20% of the wastewater treated by SUEZ is currently recycled, or in Southern California, with examples like the West Basin wastewater recycling plant. Using innovative technologies – ultraviolet technology, reverse osmosis or membrane filtration – every day, this leading-edge plant produces about 150,000m3 of recycled water of five different qualities, that can be used to water parks and gardens, to replenish water tables, or to supply process water as well as water for the boilers and cooling towers in the neighbouring refineries.

The second use is the energy recovery, by producing biogas from sewage sludge through a methanisation treatment. This green gas can then be used as fuel, electricity or heat. In this respect, it is a totally renewable energy source. For instance,in Strasbourg (France), the La Wantzenau wastewater treatment plant provides biomethane to the local natural gas network.

The last use consists of transforming effluents into pellets of fertiliser for use in agriculture. This solution consists in recovering the nitrogen and the phosphorus contained in the effluents. In this respect, we have developed the Phosphogreen technology, which allows the recovery of up to 40% of the phosphorus contained in wastewater in the form of “struvite”, a fertiliser that can be marketed directly. This is a key issue, when we know that recycling could help to cover up to 20% of our domestic needs for phosphorous and that phosphate reserves are running low, resulting in higher prices.

Tomorrow’s challenges: optimising processes and stepping up the production of renewable energy

The energy sector is awash with projects that all share the same priority: reducing consumption by optimising processes and developing the production of renewable energy. The As Samra plant in Jordan is one good example. The hydraulic turbines upstream and downstream of the treatment, working in combination with gas engines fuelled with the biogas produced from the sludge digestion, generate more than 80% of the electricity consumed by the water treatment process. Research is also focusing on the development of new treatment processes that use different bacteria. For example, anammox bacteria can be used to extract nitrogen from water without using any carbon, which can then be used to produce biogas.

Finally, we are looking into the adaptation of advanced wastewater treatment technologies, applied to wastewater reuse, in order to treat new types of pollution, such as endocrine disrupters or micro-plastics. This is the case in Lausanne, Switzerland, where SUEZ has deployed a treatment process that addresses these new issues.

So there are numerous solutions that can effectively contribute to preserving water resources and protecting the environment. It remains to encourage the evolution of mind sets and regulations, for the recovery of wastewater is much more than just an alternative, but a genuine opportunity to rise to the water challenges of the 21st century.


Credit: SUEZ / William DANIELS





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Enjeux  

Les eaux usées : une ressource à valoriser

21.03.2017

« Why Wastewater ? », c’est le thème retenu cette année pour la Journée Mondiale de l’Eau qui a lieu tous les 22 mars. Selon l’ONU, 80 % des eaux usées résultant des activités humaines sont rejetées dans l’environnement sans être traitées ou réutilisées, avec notamment pour conséquence une pollution des milieux naturels.
Comment réduire le volume d’eaux usées rejetées dans les milieux naturels, et favoriser leur réutilisation ? Comment les transformer en ressources pour les villes et les territoires ? Le point de vue de Samuel Martin, Responsable du Pôle Traitement et Valorisation des effluents au CIRSEE (Centre International de Recherche sur l’Eau et l’Environnement), Centre de Recherche et d’Expertise de SUEZ en région parisienne.

Samuel Martin, Responsable du Pôle Traitement et Valorisation des effluents au CIRSEE


Une solution pour faire face aux pressions sur la ressource en eau

En raison de l’augmentation constante et rapide de la population mondiale, de l’urbanisation croissante et du changement climatique, la pression sur les ressources est très forte. D’ici 2050, nous serons 9 milliards d’individus à nous partager les ressources de la planète, soit 2 milliards de plus qu’aujourd’hui. D’ici 2030, on estime que 50 % de la population mondiale résidera dans des zones soumises au stress hydrique ou à la sécheresse. Face à cela, il est urgent de revoir notre manière de consommer et de produire. Il devient nécessaire de modifier nos comportements car nous vivons dans un monde aux ressources limitées : les matières premières ne sont pas inépuisables. La solution tient en deux mots : recyclage et valorisation.

Trois usages principaux : réutilisation de l’eau, valorisation énergétique et valorisation en fertilisants

On peut citer trois usages principaux pour les eaux usées, le premier étant la réutilisation d’une eau préalablement traitée. Aujourd’hui dans le monde, seulement 2% des eaux usées sont réutilisées, notamment pour des usages agricoles, industriels et urbains. Pourtant des solutions existent, mais elles sont confrontées à plusieurs freins : les investissements requis, la perception d’un risque par la population, ou encore la contrainte règlementaire. Finalement, on s’aperçoit qu’il faut une réelle pression sur la ressource pour que la réutilisation de l’eau se développe. Comme en Espagne, où 20 % des eaux usées traitées par SUEZ sont actuellement recyclées, ou bien en Californie du sud avec des exemples comme l’usine de recyclage des eaux usées de West Basin. En s’appuyant sur des techniques innovantes – ultraviolets, osmose inverse ou filtration membranaire – cette usine assure la production quotidienne d’environ 150 000 m3 d’eau recyclée de cinq qualités différentes pour des usages aussi variés que l’arrosage des espaces verts, la réalimentation des nappes souterraines et l’approvisionnement en eaux de process industriel ou en eau des chaudières et tours de refroidissement des raffineries voisines.

Le deuxième usage est la valorisation des effluents en énergie avec la production de biogaz via un traitement par méthanisation. Ce gaz vert peut ensuite être valorisé en carburant, électricité ou source de chaleur. C’est à ce titre, une énergie totalement renouvelable. Ainsi à Strasbourg, la station d’épuration de La Wantzenau alimente en biométhane, le réseau local de gaz naturel.

Le dernier usage est la transformation des effluents en granules fertilisantes à destination des terres agricoles. L’objectif est alors la récupération de l’azote et du phosphore dans les résidus d’épuration. Dans cette optique, nous avons notamment mis au point la technologie Phosphogreen qui permet de récupérer jusqu’à 40 % du phosphore présent dans les eaux usées, sous forme de « struvite », un fertilisant qui peut être directement commercialisé. Un enjeu clé lorsque l’on sait que leur recyclage pourrait contribuer à couvrir jusqu’à 20 % des besoins nationaux en phosphore, les réserves en phosphates tendant à s’épuiser avec pour conséquence des prix qui augmentent.

Les défis de demain : optimiser les procédés et renforcer la production d’énergie renouvelable

Le domaine de l’énergie foisonne de projets avec une priorité : réduire les consommations via l’optimisation des procédés et le développement de la production d’énergie renouvelable. En Jordanie, la station As Samra en est un bel exemple. Grâce à des turbines hydrauliques installées en amont et en aval du traitement, associées à des moteurs à gaz alimentés par le biogaz de digestion des boues, elle produit 80 % de l’électricité nécessaire au processus de traitement des eaux. Les recherches se concentrent également sur l’élaboration de nouvelles filières de traitement avec l’utilisation de bactéries différentes. Par exemple, l’utilisation des bactéries anammox permet d’extraire l’azote de l’eau sans recours au carbone, qui peut ainsi être utilisé pour la création de biogaz.

Enfin, nous regardons comment l’adaptation des technologies de traitement avancé de l’eau usée, appliquées pour sa réutilisation, permet de traiter de nouveaux types de pollution, tels que perturbateurs endocriniens ou microplastiques. C’est le cas par exemple de la ville de Lausanne, pour laquelle SUEZ met en place une filière de traitement répondant à ces nouvelles problématiques.

Il y a donc de nombreuses solutions pour préserver efficacement les ressources en eau et protéger l’environnement. Reste à changer les mentalités, et assouplir la réglementation, car, bien plus qu’une alternative, la valorisation des eaux usées représente une véritable opportunité pour relever les défis de l’eau du XXIème siècle.


Crédit : SUEZ / William DANIELS





Vous aimerez aussi