open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Focus Oceans  

Plastic pollution in the oceans: the need for a global response

04.11.2016

In the “Challenge” section of open_resource magazine, Jean-Louis Chaussade sets out his vision of a major challenge of the resource revolution. In this issue, he underlines the urgency to fight against plastic pollution in the oceans.


Plastic waste in the ocean – Credits: Richcarey

Resistant, flexible, lightweight, waterproof… those are among the numerous qualities of plastic, making it a staple material, used across the whole field of day-to-day life. Food packaging, textile production, the manufacturing of electrical equipment, cars, etc. Production soared from 1.5 million tonnes in 1950 to more than 300 million tonnes in 2014! This exponential growth in plastic production has had a considerable impact on the quantity of plastic waste, which all too often ends up in our planet’s oceans. In the form of macro or micro-waste, this pollution is disastrous for marine ecosystems, and, as a consequence, for mankind. A global scourge, which requires the mobilisation of stakeholders, political, scientific, associative or economic.

 

If nothing is done, by 2050, the world’s oceans will contain more plastic than fish. This alarming forecast, from the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, highlights the urgency in acting to stop the pollution of our oceans by plastic. Marine animals ingesting macro-waste can be injured or suffocate—a recent study revealed the presence of this marine waste in 100% of sea turtle and 40% of sea birds.

Due to the waves and sunlight, the waste breaks up into micro-waste—invisible to the naked eye. Transported by ocean currents, they build up in the major oceanic gyres, forming “plastic soup”. The dissemination process also helps the proliferation of invasive species, which cause untold damage to sensitive eco-systems. During their breakdown, they give off a number of toxic chemical substances, with a direct impact on marine life. Finally, when mixed in with plankton, they are ingested by fish, which in turn are eaten by larger species, and-so-on up the food chain.

We are aware than 80% of marine plastic waste has a terrestrial source, drained by water courses or thrown away on the coasts. Faced with these problems, solutions exist, and must be implemented at all levels. Upstream—through a reduction in the consumption, and thus the production, of plastics. In this field a key role is played by public awareness campaigns, supported by regulations. The banning of single-use plastic bags in a number of countries is a perfect example of progress in the field. In France, this has been the case since the 1st July 2016.


Plastic debris on the shore – Credits: jacus

Those parties, like SUEZ, active in the circular economy, propose solutions covering the full length of the water and waste cycles. By improving collection and treatment systems for waste, preventing plastic reaching the natural environment. By working towards promoting the expansion of plastics recovery systems, creating biogas, energy, and recycling it into secondary raw materials. By regarding plastic waste as a resource, helping create the conditions required for a circular economy of plastic.

More than ever before, this direction appears imperative, when we see that just 30% of plastic waste is currently being recycled in Europe, compared with 9% in the United States and 25% in Japan. Throughout the world, initiatives are springing up in favour of this new economy, led by industrials, small & medium-sized enterprises, nongovernmental organisations or even private individuals. Manufacturing new objects from plastic waste collected in the oceans; developing R&D programmes aimed at improving plastic recovery, or even integrating the issue of recycling into the initial product design; imagining financial incentives for recycling, including deposit-based systems…

Measures can also be implemented further upstream in the water cycle to prevent marine pollution: through optimised management of storm waters, which can drain waste and pollutions into water courses and the coastline, or even improving the processes in wastewater treatment plants, notably filtering out the micro-plastics coming, for example, by textile fibres from household washing machines.

The sheer scale of plastic production and its impact on the environment has led some scientists to define it as a geological marker of our era. Its dissemination into our oceans is a global problem, requiring multiple responses from those in civil society, economic parties and political decision-makers. Scientific, technological, but also social innovation, as well as collaboration, are at the heart of the solutions which must urgently be implemented to prevent this haemorrhaging of plastics into our oceans.
 

This article was published in the third issue of open_resource magazine : «The oceans, future of the blue planet»





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Focus Océans  

Pollution plastique des océans : la nécessité d’une réponse globale

04.11.2016

Dans la rubrique Challenge, Jean-Louis Chaussade propose sa vision d’un défi majeur en lien avec la révolution de la ressource. Pour ce numéro, il revient sur l’urgence de lutter contre la pollution plastique dans les océans.

Déchets plastiques dans l’océan – Crédits : Richcarey

Résistant, flexible, léger, imperméable… les nombreuses qualités du plastique en ont fait un matériau incontournable, utilisé dans toutes les activités de la vie quotidienne. Emballages alimentaires, production textile, fabrication d’appareils électriques, de voitures… Sa production est passée de 1,5 million de tonnes en 1950 à plus de 300 millions en 2014 !
Cette croissance exponentielle de la production plastique a eu pour conséquence l’augmentation considérable des déchets plastiques, qui trop souvent finissent leur vie dans l’océan. Sous forme de macro ou micro-déchets, cette pollution est désastreuse pour les écosystèmes marins et par extension, pour l’homme. Un fléau global qui nécessite la mobilisation de l’ensemble des parties prenantes, politiques, scientifiques, associatives ou économiques.

En 2050, l’océan contiendra plus de plastique que de poisson si rien n’est fait. Cette prévision alarmante de la Fondation Ellen Mac Arthur met en lumière l’urgence d’agir pour stopper la pollution des océans par le plastique. Les macro-déchets provoquent blessures et suffocations aux animaux marins qui les ingèrent – une étude récente a ainsi révélé la présence de déchets marins dans l’organisme de 100 % des tortues de mer et 40 % des oiseaux marins.
Par l’effet des vagues et du soleil, ces déchets se fragmentent en micro-déchets, invisibles à l’oeil nu. Transportés par les courants marins, ils se concentrent dans les principaux gyres océaniques, créant des « soupes de plastique ». Ils contribuent, par leur dissémination, à la prolifération d’espèces invasives, qui bouleversent les écosystèmes. Ils provoquent lors de leur fragmentation la libération de substances chimiques toxiques, qui affectent directement les espèces marines. Enfin, mêlés au plancton, ils sont ingérés par les poissons qui s’en nourrissent et intègrent ainsi la chaine alimentaire.

Nous savons que 80 % de ces déchets plastiques marins sont d’origine terrestre, drainés par les cours d’eau ou jetés sur les littoraux. Face à ces constats, les solutions existent et doivent être mises en place à tous les niveaux. En amont, par la réduction de la consommation et donc de la production de plastique. En ce sens, les campagnes de sensibilisation du grand public, mais aussi la règlementation jouent un rôle clé. Ainsi l’interdiction des sacs plastiques dans de nombreux pays est un exemple des avancées en la matière. En France, c’est le cas depuis le 1er juillet 2016.

Déchets plastiques amassés sur le rivage – Crédits : jacus

Un acteur de l’économie circulaire comme SUEZ propose des solutions tout au long du cycle des déchets ou de l’eau. En améliorant les systèmes de collecte et de traitement des déchets pour éviter les rejets de plastique dans les milieux naturels. En travaillant sur l’essor des filières de valorisation des matériaux plastiques, en énergie, en biogaz, ou encore leur recyclage en matière première secondaire. En utilisant les déchets plastiques comme une ressource, en contribuant à créer les conditions d’une économie circulaire du plastique.

Cet axe apparait plus que jamais comme un impératif, alors que seuls 30 % des déchets plastiques sont aujourd’hui recyclés en Europe, contre 9 % aux États-Unis ou encore 25 % au Japon. Partout dans le monde, des initiatives en faveur de cette nouvelle économie se mettent en place, portées par des industriels, des PME, des ONG, des institutions ou encore des citoyens. Fabriquer de nouveaux objets à partir de déchets plastiques collectés dans l’océan ; développer des programmes de R&D pour améliorer la valorisation des plastiques, ou encore pour intégrer la problématique du recyclage dès la conception des produits ; imaginer des dispositifs d’incitation financière pour le recyclage, à l’instar des systèmes de consignes…

Au niveau du cycle de l’eau, des mesures peuvent être aussi mises en place en amont pour prévenir les pollutions marines : avec une gestion optimisée des eaux pluviales, susceptibles de drainer déchets et pollutions dans les cours d’eau ou les littoraux, ou encore un renforcement des traitements dans les stations d’épuration, notamment pour filtrer les microplastiques issus par exemple des fibres textiles rejetées par les machines à laver.

L’ampleur de la production plastique et son impact sur l’environnement sont tels, que certains scientifiques y voient un marqueur géologique de notre ère. Sa dissémination dans l’océan est un problème mondial et appelle des réponses multiples, associant acteurs de la société civile, acteurs économiques et décideurs politiques. L’innovation, scientifique, technologique mais aussi sociétale, et la collaboration sont au coeur des solutions qui doivent être mises en oeuvre, de manière urgente, pour stopper l’hémorragie de plastique menaçant nos océans.



Cet article a été publié dans le troisième numéro d’open_resource magazine : « L’océan, avenir de la planète bleue »