open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Focus COP21  

Protecting the oceans: it’s time to take action

17.02.2015

Oceans contain 97% of the planet’s available water and represent a critical ecosystem that generates 50% of the planet’s available oxygen, allows climate regulation, stores CO2, and is a vital source of life for humanity. 40% of the world’s population lives less than 100 km from the sea side and depends directly on the oceans for food, jobs and development.

In Europe, regions located close to the sea shore generate 40% of the total wealth generated in the European community, through income from fishing, tourism, transportation, industries, renewable energy and trade.

And yet this life-critical resource is under threat from pollution, over-fishing and climate change. 75% of the ocean’s pollution comes from the land, with the saddest and most emblematic illustration of this being the emergence of a “seventh continent” right in the middle of the Pacific comprised of accumulated waste and plastics. If political, economic and civil society stakeholders fail to take rapid action in order to radically change humanity’s relationship with this resource, our very way of life could be threatened.

Fortunately, there is growing awareness and an increasing number of initiatives. Note in this respect that France, the country with the second largest maritime space in the world, has set itself the goal of transforming 10% of this area into protected marine havens.

Photo credit: ©SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT / Krista BOGGS

Progress in terms of infrastructure represents a strategic lever for guaranteeing protected oceans. Wastewater plants help to limit substantial pollution from physical, chemical and biological sources. However there is still a problem in that textile microfibers and plastics still cannot be eliminated by the filtering systems of traditional plants. In France, the Ecoseastem project, which is jointly managed by the Nice Côte d’Azur Metropolitan region, the MED expedition association, the Villefranche Oceanographic laboratory and SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT, seeks to identify this risk by defining the pollution generated by plastic microfibers and by evaluating their impact on the natural environment. The best technologies available, such as dynamic microfiltration, are being studied to this end.

Another ambitious initiative has been taken by the Plant A Fish association founded by Fabien Cousteau. The association aims to reintroduce some one billion fish into the oceans. Plant A Fish is part of a global initiative whose ambition is to reintroduce turtles into the East Pacific, restore mangroves, reintroduce oysters into the Hudson Bay and replant corals in the Maldives.

As the world shows a tendency to overfish fishing zones, with 80% of fish species at risk of becoming extinct by the middle of this century, Fabien Cousteau will be in Paris on 22 March 2015 to share his commitment at the Resource Revolution Tour. You can follow the live telecast on this website.

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Focus COP21  

Préserver les océans : l’heure est à l’action

17.02.2015

Avec 97% de l’eau disponible sur la planète, les océans représentent un écosystème essentiel qui génère 50 % de l’oxygène disponible, permet la régulation du climat, le stockage du CO2, et qui offre à l’humanité une source essentielle de vie. 40% de la population mondiale réside à moins de 100 kilomètres des côtes et est directement dépendante des océans pour son alimentation, ses emplois, son développement.

En Europe, les régions localisées à proximité des côtes sont à l’origine de 40 % des richesses générées au sein de la communauté européenne, grâce aux revenus de la pêche, du tourisme, des transports, des industries, des énergies renouvelables et du commerce.

Pourtant la pollution, la surpêche ou encore le réchauffement climatique mettent en péril cette ressource indispensable. 75% de la pollution des océans provient de la terre, dont l’illustration la plus tristement emblématique est la constitution d’un “septième continent“ au milieu du Pacifique par une agrégation d’ordures et de matières plastiques. Si les acteurs politiques, économiques et la société civile n’accomplissent pas rapidement une révolution dans leur rapport à cette ressource, c’est notre société même qui s’en trouverait menacée.

La prise de conscience est en cours, et les initiatives voient le jour. Notons à ce titre que la France, deuxième espace maritime mondial, s’est assigné l’objectif de sanctuariser 10% de cette surface au sein d’aires marines protégées.

Photo credit: ©SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT / Krista BOGGS

Les progrès en termes d’infrastructures représentent quant à eux un levier stratégique pour assurer la préservation des océans. Les stations d’épuration permettent de limiter les pollutions physiques, chimiques et biologiques les plus importantes. Pourtant demeure la question des microfibres textiles et plastiques qui échappent aujourd’hui aux systèmes de filtration des stations traditionnelles. En France, le projet Ecoseastem mené conjointement par la Métropole Nice Côte d’Azur, l’association expédition MED, le laboratoire Océanographique de Villefranche et SUEZ ENVIRONNEMENT vise à cerner ce risque en caractérisant la pollution générée par les microfibres plastiques et en évaluant ses impacts sur le milieu naturel. Les meilleures technologies disponibles sont étudiées, comme celle par microfiltration dynamique.

Autre initiative ambitieuse, celle de l’association Plant A Fish fondée par Fabien Cousteau, qui s’est fixée l’objectif de réinsérer un milliard de poissons dans les océans. Un projet qui s’inscrit dans une action globale œuvrant pour la réintroduction des tortues dans le Pacifique Est, la restauration des mangroves, la réintroduction de l’huître dans la Bassin d’Hudson ou encore la replantation des coraux dans les Maldives.

Alors que 80% des poissons des zones de pèche souffrent de surpêche, avec pour risque de vider les océans dès le milieu du siècle en cours, Fabien Cousteau viendra partager son engagement lors du Ressource Revolution Tour le 12 mars 2015 à Paris ; à suivre en direct sur ce site.