open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Focus circular economy  

are you ready to store CO2 and to transform it into green energy?

25.09.2017

What if CO2 could produce green energy? That’s the goal of a solution designed by SUEZ and Fermentalg: “Carbon Wells”.

 

Carbon wells

Credits: Adrien Galerneau

 

The reduction of emissions of greenhouse gases, and of CO2 in particular, is an essential upfront factor in the fight against global warming. Other downstream solutions are also being investigated, and in particular the capture and storage of carbon in artificial carbon wells.

In partnership with Fermentalg, SUEZ has designed a carbon well capable of capturing CO and transforming it into green energy. In concrete terms, micro algae (1) are grown in a column filled with water (2). The algae then capture the CO2 in the atmosphere by photosynthesis. They continuously multiply, forming a biomass that is regularly evacuated (3) via the sewage network to the wastewater plant (4). This highly methanogenic biomass increases the production of biogas that is recovered as biomethane.

It exists currently two pilot carbon wells. The first one is an industrial application, installed in the wastewater plant located at the SIAAP’s* site in Colombes, France. This pilot carbon well was created in 2016 and will capture one tonne of CO2 every year. It is the equivalent of one return trip between Paris and Washington by air. This CO2 will be used to produce green energy for the town’s mains gas network. The second one is an urban experimentation which was set last summer in the district of Alésia in Paris, France

*Interdepartemental Syndicate for Sanitation of Greater Paris

 

This article was published in the fourth issue of open_resource magazine: “The circular economy era





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Focus économie circulaire  

êtes-vous prêts à stocker le CO2 pour le transformer en énergie verte ?

25.09.2017

Et si le CO2 constituait une ressource pour produire de l’énergie verte ? C’est l’objet de la solution « Puits de carbone », conçue par SUEZ et Fermentalg.


Puits de carbone

Crédits : Adrien Galerneau


La réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre et notamment du CO2 est un levier essentiel pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique en amont. En aval, d’autres solutions sont explorées, notamment celles consistant à capter et stocker le carbone dans des « puits de carbone artificiels ».

En partenariat avec la société Fermentalg, SUEZ a conçu un puits de carbone capable de capter le CO2 pour le transformer en énergie verte. Concrètement, des microalgues (1) unicellulaires sont mises en culture dans un contenant rempli d’eau (2). Par photosynthèse, ces algues captent le CO2 présent dans l’atmosphère. Elles se multiplient en continu et forment ainsi une biomasse régulièrement évacuée (3) via le réseau d’assainissement jusqu’à une station d’épuration (4). Hautement méthanogène, cette biomasse permet d’augmenter la production de biogaz destiné à être valorisé en biométhane.

Il existe à ce jour deux puits de carbone « pilotes ». Le premier, une application industrielle, est installé depuis décembre 2016 sur la station d’épuration du SIAAP* à Colombes (Hauts-de-Seine), ce puits de carbone captera chaque année 1t de CO2. C’est l’équivalent d’un aller-retour Paris-Washington en avion. Ce CO2 permettra de produire une énergie verte qui alimentera le réseau de gaz de la ville. Le second, une expérimentation urbaine, est installé cet été dans le quartier d’Alésia à Paris.

*Syndicat interdépartemental pour l’assainissement de l’agglomération parisienne


Cet article a été publié dans le quatrième numéro d’open_resource magazine : « L’ère de l’économie circulaire »





Vous aimerez aussi