open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Issues  

Risk of “mega-droughts” in the United States according to NASA

20.03.2015

A study co-authored by NASA and published last month in the journal Science Advances shines a light on the risk of “mega-droughts” in the Unites States – a critical forecast that researchers associate with climate change and that will have an impact on agriculture and the management of water resources.

Drought constitutes a risk grounded in both the territory and history of the US from the great Dust Bowl of the 1930s to more recent episodes, with eleven of the last fourteen years witnessing droughts affecting most of the western part of the country including California, Nevada and New Mexico.

And this phenomenon is not about to change; by analysing data from the last thousand years, NASA researchers are coming up with alarming scenarios. Mega-droughts, in their opinion, will occur with 80% probability between 2050 and 2099, and will particularly affect the West and the Great Plains.

In addition to their intensity, the duration of these episodes is the most urgent factor as they may last between 30 and 35 years. Toby Ault, climatologist from Cornell University and one of the study’s authors, admits that he was “honestly surprised at how dry the future of these regions will likely be (…). These mega-droughts are like a slow-moving natural disaster.”

The risks associated with these mega-droughts are many: agriculture, vegetation and the supply of water to populations will be impacted. They are above all putting into question how water resources are managed. As groundwater recedes and reservoir levels decline, we must rethink how we manage water resources, especially since this study’s forecasts recall an episode dating back to the 12th and 13th centuries called the “Medieval Warm Period” by climatologists, which reportedly contributed to the collapse of the Anasazi Indian civilization.

To guard against these kinds of risks, solutions are already being proposed in the US such as desalination and reuse.
California, for example, currently lists more than 20 desalination plant projects that will secure the supply of alternative drinking water resources.
In Los Angeles (El Segundo), SUEZ Environnement is operating a wastewater recycling plant that offers optimized water management: 5 different water qualities provide for usage as varied as watering public and private gardens, irrigation, supplying water to refinery boilers and cooling towers, and rebuilding ground water.

These are just some of the solutions designed to respond to current water stress. And in terms of NASA’s forecast, it appears essential to develop these initiatives to limit the impact “mega-droughts” might have on all populations in the American West.

Read the full study on the Science Advances website.

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Enjeux  

Un risque de « méga-sécheresses » pèse sur les Etats-Unis, selon la NASA

20.03.2015

Une étude co-signée par la NASA et publiée le mois dernier dans la revue Science Advances porte l’attention sur un risque de “méga-sécheresses“ (mega-droughts) aux États-Unis. Des prévisions critiques, que les chercheurs lient au réchauffement climatique, et qui vont impacter l’agriculture et la gestion des ressources en eau.

La sécheresse constitue un risque qui marque le territoire et l’histoire des américains, depuis la grande sécheresse des années 1930 jusqu’aux épisodes récents, avec onze des quatorze dernières années qui ont vu des sécheresses toucher la plus grande partie de l’ouest américain dont la Californie, le Nevada et le Nouveau-Mexique.

Et ce phénomène n’est pas prêt de s’inverser : en analysant des données couvrant plus de mille années, les chercheurs de la NASA aboutissent à des scénarios alarmistes. Selon eux, des méga-sécheresses ont une probabilité de 80% d’advenir entre 2050 et 2099, et toucheraient notamment l’Ouest et les grandes plaines du centre.

Au-delà de leur intensité, c’est la durée de ces épisodes qui en indique l’urgence : ils pourraient durer 30 à 35 ans. Toby Ault, climatologue de l’Université Cornell et l’un des auteurs de l’étude, confie avoir été “vraiment surpris de constater combien l’avenir dans ces régions sera probablement très sec (…). Ces super-sécheresses ressemblent à un désastre naturel au ralenti“.

Les risques associés à ces méga-sécheresses sont multiples : l’agriculture, la végétation, mais également l’alimentation en eau des populations seront impactés. Ils interrogent surtout la gestion de la ressource en eau. Avec le recul du niveau des nappes phréatiques, la baisse des niveaux des réservoirs… il est nécessaire de repenser la gestion de la ressource en eau. D’autant que les prévisions de cette étude rappellent un épisode remontant au 12e et 13e siècle appelé par les climatologues « anomalie climatique médiévale », et qui aurait contribué à l’effondrement de la civilisation amérindienne des Anasazis.

Pour se prémunir de tels risques, solutions voient déjà le jour aux Etats-Unis telles que le dessalement ou le re-use.
En Californie par exemple, on recense actuellement près de 20 projets d’usine de dessalement qui permettront de sécuriser l’approvisionnement de ressources alternatives en eau potable.
À Los Angeles (El Segundo), SUEZ environnement exploite une usine de recyclage des eaux usées qui permet une gestion optimisée des eaux : cinq qualités différentes d’eau garantissent des usages aussi variés que l’arrosage des jardins publics ou privés, l’irrigation, l’approvisionnement en eau des chaudières et tours de refroidissement des raffineries et la reconstitution des nappes souterraines.

Autant de solutions conçues pour répondre au stress hydrique actuel. Et au regard des prévisions de la NASA, il apparait essentiel de continuer à développer ces initiatives pour limiter l’impact qu’auraient les “méga-sécheresses“ sur l’ensemble des populations de l’Ouest américain.

Retrouvez l’intégralité de l’étude sur le site de Science Advences.