open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Issues  

A day to raise awareness of the importance of wetlands

02.02.2016

World Wetlands Day is celebrated every year to commemorate the signing of the Convention on Wetlands on February 2, 1971, in the Iranian city of Ramsar on the shores of the Caspian Sea. The day is an opportunity to raise public awareness of the importance of preserving these ecosystems, which are essential if a number of environmental challenges are to be met.


Zone Libellule, Saint-Just – Credit: SUEZ / © BUSINESS ROLL AGENCY


The many virtues of wetlands

The Ramsar Convention, an international treaty that was adopted in 1971 and came into force in 1975, defines wetlands as “areas of marsh, fen, peatland, or water, whether natural or artificial, permanent or temporary, with water that is static or flowing, fresh, brackish, or salt, including areas of marine water the depth of which at low tide does not exceed six metres”. The French environmental code defines wetlands as “developed or undeveloped lands regularly inundated or saturated with fresh, salt, or brackish water, permanently or temporarily; when there is vegetation in such areas, it is mainly composed of hydrophilic plans for at least part of the year” (article L.211-1). Although there are many definitions of “wetlands”, all of them agree that such zones are of primary importance. Wetlands are not only important reserves of biodiversity, they also play a major role in filtering out pollutants. They help replenish groundwater and are natural carbon storehouses, which means they limit the impact of human CO2 emissions. Finally, they help reduce erosion, particularly along coastlines, and their capacity to absorb water and release it during dry spells provides protection against both floods and droughts.


We all must be aware of the need to preserve wetlands

Urbanisation, the reclamation of wetlands for agricultural purposes, the appearance of invasive alien species, and overuse of water resources, are only some of the many threats wetlands face. The theme of this year’s World Wetlands Day, “Wetlands for our Future”, was selected to demonstrate the vital role of wetlands in combatting global warming and achieving the new Sustainable Development Goals (2015-2030) adopted by the UN Member Countries this past September. Along these lines, the national symposium – “Restoring Nature? The example of wetlands” – will be held this coming 3 and 4 February at the Océanopolis in Brest, France, with the goal of taking the debate on these themes to national level, and sharing knowledge and skills.


The role of wetlands in images:


Credit: Ramsar


Natural… or artificial zones

The many virtues of wetlands may lead regional authorities to create artificial ones in order to achieve goals such as the restoration of an ecosystem, the promotion of biodiversity, water purification… Thus, the Zone Libellule [Dragonfly Zone], designed by SUEZ in Languedoc-Roussillon, France was created downstream from a wastewater treatment plant to allow wetland plants to further purify the wastewater before it is released into the environment.


Zone Libellule, Saint-Just – Credit: SUEZ





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Enjeux  

Une journée pour rappeler l’importance des zones humides

02.02.2016

Chaque année, la Journée mondiale des zones humides est célébrée pour commémorer la signature de la Convention sur les zones humides, le 2 février 1971, dans la ville iranienne de Ramsar, au bord de la mer Caspienne. Cette journée est l’occasion de sensibiliser le plus grand nombre à l’importance de préserver ces zones représentant des écosystèmes essentiels pour répondre à de multiples défis environnementaux.


Zone Libellule, Saint-Just – Crédit: SUEZ / © BUSINESS ROLL AGENCY


Les zones humides : des vertus multiples

La convention de Ramsar – traité international adopté en 1971 et entré en vigueur en 1975 – a adopté la définition suivante : « les zones humides sont des étendues de marais, de fagnes, de tourbières ou d’eaux naturelles ou artificielles, permanentes ou temporaires, où l’eau est stagnante ou courante, douce, saumâtre ou salée, y compris des étendues d’eau marine dont la profondeur à marée basse n’excède pas six mètres». En France, le code de l’environnement définit les zones humides comme des « terrains, exploités ou non, habituellement inondés ou gorgés d’eau douce, salée ou saumâtre de façon permanente ou temporaire ; la végétation, quand elle existe, y est dominée par des plantes hygrophiles pendant au moins une partie de l’année» (art. L.211-1). Si les définitions sont nombreuses, elles sont unanimes quant au rôle primordial de ces zones. Les zones humides constituent non seulement d’importants réservoirs de biodiversité, mais elles possèdent également des capacités d’épuration, en filtrant les polluants. Elles contribuent au renouvellement des nappes phréatiques et stockent naturellement le carbone, limitant l’impact des activités humaines émettrices de CO2. Enfin, elles réduisent l’érosion, en particulier sur le littoral, et protègent des crues comme des sécheresses par leur capacité à accumuler l’eau et à la restituer en période sèche.


Une indispensable sensibilisation à leur préservation

Urbanisation, assèchement pour le développement de terres agricoles, apparition d’espèces exotiques envahissantes, prélèvements d’eau trop importants… les menaces qui pèsent sur les zones humides sont nombreuses. Le thème de la journée mondiale qui leur est dédiée est cette année : « Des zones humides pour notre avenir ». Une manière de souligner leur rôle fondamental face au changement climatique et pour la réalisation des nouveaux Objectifs de développement durable (2015-2030) adoptés par les Pays-Membres de l’ONU en septembre dernier. Dans cette optique, le colloque – «Réparer la nature ? L’exemple des milieux humides» – se tiendra les 3 et 4 février prochains à l’Océanopolis de Brest, en France, avec pour objectif de porter à l’échelle nationale les débats sur ces thématiques et de partager les connaissances et les savoir-faire.


Le rôle des zones humides en images


Crédit: Ramsar


Des zones naturelles…. ou artificielles

Les nombreuses vertus des zones humides peuvent amener les territoires à en créer de manière artificielle pour restaurer un écosystème, favoriser le développement de la biodiversité, renforcer l’épuration de l’eau… Ainsi la Zone Libellule, conçue par SUEZ en Languedoc-Roussillon (France), a été développée en aval d’une station d’épuration comme traitement complémentaire des eaux usées avant leur rejet dans la nature, grâce aux capacités épuratoires des plantes qui la composent.


Zone Libellule, Saint-Just – Crédit: SUEZ





Vous aimerez aussi