open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Solutions  

Waste&Climate: spotlight on E-cover

22.12.2015

SUEZ and MakeSense teamed up in 2014 to create the Future of Waste program, focused on alternative solutions for reducing, reusing and recycling waste. For COP21, Future of Waste is taking action and launching its first Waste&Climate Impact Program, which aims to build public understanding of the links between global warming and waste, while helping entrepreneurs to highlight their positive impacts on climate. Each week, open_resource gives Future of Waste its own slot to talk about an entrepreneur from the Waste&Climate program.


Credit: Thinkstock – Fuse


Senegal’s infrastructure for collecting and handling used tyres is overwhelmingly inadequate. This leads to thousands of tyres being stockpiled outdoors or burned, which presents great dangers for the environment and human health. The start-up E-cover is addressing this problem by turning used tyres into new products, in particular into construction materials.


The challenge

Today, in urban Senegal, the consumer society holds sway. The main focus is on buying products that come and go continuously, usually without any attention being paid to the waste they generate. The amount of poorly managed waste is truly enormous. For example, 70,000 tons of plastic waste are currently dumped in Senegal’s natural environment. Used tyres are another type of frequently found waste. These piles of tyres pose a danger to the environment due to the toxic fumes they produce when burned.


The E-cover start-up

E-cover, a start-up based in Dakar, Senegal, aims to transform dumpsite waste into new products. It subscribes to a circular economy model that creates value by reducing waste.

E-cover’s main activity is recycling tires by transforming this widespread form of waste into a resource. The tyres are made of a complex blend of materials and provide a significant source of revenue if recycled. The most widely-used technique for “recycling” the tyres is to burn them to recover the metal they contain, but this is not an ecologically sound method. Given this, E-cover has developed an ecological recycling process that involves cutting, crushing and compacting used tyres. E-cover has grouped its first products into its “RE-tyres” line, which includes floor coverings and roof and other tiles made from recycled tyres.



Today, E-Cover is attempting to industrialise and simplify its production process. In order to do this, it is launching a crowd-funding campaign to raise the funds for the equipment required.


Other solutions to turn waste into construction materials

There is great room for innovation in the area of transforming waste into construction materials. Thus, Paver’Stic, another start-up based in Senegal, recycles plastic waste into paving stones. GreenWood is an Indian start-up that uses rice chaff – which is traditionally burned – to produce economically priced construction materials.


To go further with Future of Waste

To go further, you can contribute to the development of these solutions by working with MakeSense and Future of Waste!

You can help support the E-cover start-up by contributing to its crowd-funding campaign: http://igg.me/at/ecover221





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Solutions  

Waste&Climate : portrait de E-cover

22.12.2015

SUEZ et MakeSense se sont associés en 2014 pour créer Future of Waste, le programme consacré aux solutions alternatives de réduction, réemploi et recyclage des déchets. A l’occasion de la COP21, Future of Waste s’est mobilisé et a lancé son premier Impact Programme Waste&Climate, qui vise à faire comprendre au grand public le lien entre réchauffement climatique et déchets, et à aider les entrepreneurs à valoriser leur impact positif sur le climat. Chaque semaine, open_resource donne la parole à Future of Waste pour un portrait d’entrepreneur du programme Waste&Climate.


Crédit: Thinkstock – Fuse


Au Sénégal, le dispositif de collecte et de traitement des pneus usagés est largement insuffisant. Des milliers de pneus sont ainsi entreposés dans la nature, ou brulés, avec de forts dangers pour l’environnement et la santé humaine. La start-up E-cover adresse ce problème en transformant les pneus usagés en de nouveaux produits, en particulier des matériaux de construction.


L’enjeu

Au Sénégal, en milieu urbain, on grandit aujourd’hui avec les habitudes de la société de consommation, où l’accent est plus porté sur l’achat de produits se renouvelant sans cesse, le plus souvent sans évoquer ce qu’il advient des déchets. Les quantités de déchets mal traités sont en réalité colossales. Par exemple, il y aurait aujourd’hui au Sénégal près de 70.000 tonnes de déchets plastiques dans la nature. Les pneus usagés sont un autre type de déchets fréquemment rencontrés, et leur amoncellement représente un danger pour l’environnement en cas d’incendie du fait de l’émission de fumées toxiques.


La start-up E-cover

E-cover est une start-up basée à Dakar, Sénégal, qui vise à revaloriser les déchets présents dans les décharges en les transformant en de nouveaux produits : un modèle d’économie circulaire, qui crée de la valeur en réduisant les déchets.

La première activité d’E-Cover est le recyclage de pneus, faisant ainsi de ce déchet largement répandu une ressource. Les pneus étant composés d’un alliage complexe, ils présentent un fort potentiel de revenu lorsqu’ils sont valorisés. La méthode la plus répandue pour les « recycler » consiste à les brûler pour récupérer le métal qu’ils contiennent, mais cette méthode n’est pas écologique. Face à ce constat, E-cover a mis au point un processus de recyclage écologique par découpe, broyage et compactage des pneus récupérés. Les premiers produits réalisés par E-cover sont regroupés au sein de la gamme « RE-tires » qui comprend des revêtements de sol, des carreaux et des tuiles réalisés à partir de pneus récupérés…



E-Cover cherche aujourd’hui à industrialiser et simplifier son processus de fabrication et lance pour cela une campagne de crowdfunding visant à acquérir les machines nécessaires.


D’autres solutions qui valorisent les déchets en matériaux de construction

La conception de matériaux de construction à partir de déchets transformés semble ouvrir un large domaine d’innovation. Ainsi Paver’Stic, une autre start-up basée au Sénégal, recycle les déchets plastiques en pavés ; GreenWood une start-up indienne utilise quant à elle les pailles issues de la culture du riz – habituellement brûlées – pour produire des matériaux de construction accessibles.


Pour aller plus loin avec Future of Waste

Pour aller plus loin, vous pouvez contribuer à l’émergence de ces solutions en participant avec Makesense et Future of Waste à la résolution des défis des entrepreneurs!

Vous pouvez soutenir la start-up E-cover pour sa campagne de crowdfunding : http://igg.me/at/ecover221





Vous aimerez aussi