open_resource : ideas, points of view
and solutions from the actors of the resource revolution



← Back Solutions  

Waste&Climate: spotlight on Winnow

09.12.2015

SUEZ and MakeSense teamed up in 2014 to create the Future of Waste program, focused on alternative solutions for reducing, reusing and recycling waste. For COP21, Future of Waste is taking action and launching its first Waste&Climate Impact Program, which aims to build public understanding of the links between global warming and waste, while helping entrepreneurs to highlight their positive impacts on climate. Each week, open_resource gives Future of Waste its own slot to talk about an entrepreneur from the Waste&Climate program.


Crédit: Winnow


The challenge

Estimates show that ⅓ of all food goes to waste worldwide. According to WRAP , the Hospitality sector in the UK alone is responsible for 900,000 tons (2.5 billion pounds) of food waste, or about 6% of all food going to waste in the country. As 75% of this food waste is avoidable, this presents an opportunity to reduce costs and greenhouse gases.

So where does food waste occur in the hospitality industry? There are three main categories of food waste in hospitality: kitchen waste, overproduction, plate waste.

Firstly, kitchen waste occurs when the food is being prepared because of bad management of food stock or badly prepared food. Restaurants tend to suffer more from plate waste than kitchen waste, because a lot of the food is made “a la minute”, rather than in big batches. Secondly, overproduction occurs when the production of food doesn’t match customers’ demand. On the one hand, food businesses are not always able to forecast the demand. Think of canteens or, even worse, party catering. Other reasons are buffets, batch cooking, or mismatch between batch and customer numbers.

Thirdly, plate waste happens firstly because of portion size: most restaurant portions are designed for hungry guys. Customers are responsible too. They look for ‘value for money’. Think of ‘All you can eat’ buffets, where people take piles of food which they cannot finish. Here, customers don’t dare to ask for doggybags or restaurants don’t offer them.

Finally, there are restrictions on donating surplus food in hospitality. Once food has been served (on the plate or on a buffet), it cannot be donated anymore. On the contrary, food that has stayed in the kitchen can be donated. Many hospitality managers don’t know enough about these laws and, thus, refuse to donate any food.


The company: Winnow

London-based tech startup Winnow helps caterers, restaurants and hotels measure and manage their waste. Kitchen teams use their smart meter to automatically record waste and receive reports detailing where improvements can be made. Kitchens using Winnow see their waste reduced by half, increasing food margins by up to 6%. The hospitality sector traditionally survives on very thin margins, so this can represent a significant increase in profitability.

Winnow has now been deployed in over 200 kitchens in the UK and has recently expanded operations into Asia. Founder and CEO Marc Zornes says, “Food waste is a global problem costing the hospitality sector an estimated £53bn annually in the developed world alone. We have seen time and time again that using technology to measure waste delivers significant cost savings whilst also doing the right thing for the environment.”



Other solutions

Many other creative solutions exist to reduce food waste in the hospitality industry, says Joris Depouillon. He is the co-founder of FSE Network, which connects the social entrepreneurs that are helping prevent food waste. Joris explains, ‘What the Food, for instance, is an app developed by students in France. It enables students to choose what they are going to eat in their canteen the day after. Like that, the canteen can plan its quantities better.’

A second kind of solution can tackle food waste once it has occurred. Equo Evento (Italy) and Le Chainon Manquant (France) pick up food surplus from events and redistribute it to social organizations. Finally, there are organizations that enable customers to reduce food waste. Trop Bon Pour Gaspiller aims to give the doggy bag a new impetus in France. They distribute eco-boxes to restaurants and help customers identify which restaurants offer these boxes.

Clearly, these solutions are only the start of a food waste revolution. Food waste in the hospitality sector remains a major issue. Successful solutions need to be replicated, both by new start-ups and by corporations. Further innovations need to be developed.


To go further with Future of Waste

To go further, you can help encourage the emergence of these solutions by getting involved with Makesense and Future of Waste to resolve the challenges facing entrepreneurs or take part in the discussions about COP21 on the Voxe.org platform.

Written by:
Joris Depouillon – Food Surplus Entrepreneurs Network
Will Nicholson – IntoFood





You may also like

open_resource : idées, points de vue
et solutions des acteurs de la révolution de la ressource



← Retour Solutions  

Waste and climate : portrait de Winnow

09.12.2015

SUEZ et MakeSense se sont associés en 2014 pour créer Future of Waste, le programme consacré aux solutions alternatives de réduction, réemploi et recyclage des déchets. A l’occasion de la COP21, Future of Waste se mobilise et lance son premier Impact Programme Waste&Climate, qui vise à faire comprendre au grand public le lien entre réchauffement climatique et déchets, et à aider les entrepreneurs à valoriser leur impact positif sur le climat. Chaque semaine, open_resource donne la parole à Future of Waste pour un portrait d’entrepreneur du programme Waste&Climate.


Crédit: Winnow


L’enjeu

Au niveau mondial, on estime qu’un tiers de la production alimentaire est gaspillée. Au Royaume-Uni, le secteur de la restauration produit à lui seul 900 000 tonnes de déchets alimentaires , soit 6 % des pertes alimentaires nationales. 75 % de ce gaspillage pourrait être évité, ce qui représente une réelle opportunité de réduction des coûts, mais aussi de réduction des gaz à effet de serre.

A quelles étapes de la production intervient ce gaspillage ? Trois niveaux peuvent être distingués : dans les cuisines, au moment de la production ; en amont, du fait de la surproduction ; et en fin de chaine, au niveau du consommateur.

Au niveau des cuisines, le gaspillage provient principalement d’une mauvaise gestion des stocks, ou de plats mal préparés. Pour les restaurants, les pertes sont toutefois plus importantes en aval, au niveau du consommateur, plutôt qu’en amont, les plats étant généralement préparés à la demande et non en grandes quantités.

La surproduction intervient quant à elle lorsque la demande des clients est inférieure à la quantité de nourriture produite. Cela s’explique car les restaurateurs ne peuvent pas toujours prévoir avec précision quelle sera la demande de leurs clients, c’est le cas notamment des cantines, ou encore des traiteurs ; mais aussi par les formules telles les buffets à volonté, la préparation de grandes quantités en amont, ou encore le décalage possible entre la quantité produite et le nombre effectif de clients.

En aval enfin, le gaspillage est lié à la taille des portions, souvent trop copieuses. Les clients ont aussi leur part de responsabilité, en souhaitant « en avoir pour leur argent ». Ainsi dans les buffets à volonté, de nombreux clients se servent des quantités déraisonnables qu’ils n’arrivent pas à finir. Ils n’osent ensuite pas demander un « doggy bag » pour repartir avec leurs restes, ou alors les restaurants n’en fournissent pas.

Enfin, le secteur de la restauration est très contraint en matière de don des surplus de nourriture produite.

Lorsqu’un plat a été servi (à table ou dans un buffet), il ne peut plus être donné. En revanche, toute nourriture qui n’a pas quitté la cuisine peut l’être. De nombreux restaurateurs ne connaissent pas suffisamment la législation, et refusent de ce fait de donner leurs restes non servis.


L’entreprise : Winnow

Winnow est une start-up basée à Londres qui aide traiteurs, restaurateurs et hôteliers à quantifier et gérer leurs déchets. En cuisine, les équipes utilisent un compteur intelligent qui enregistre automatiquement les déchets produits. Elles reçoivent ensuite des comptes rendus détaillés proposant des axes d’amélioration possibles. Les cuisines qui font appel à Winnow ont ainsi vu leur quantité de déchets divisée par 2, augmentant alors leurs marges alimentaires jusqu’à 6 %. Les marges du secteur étant très faibles, ce gain peut représenter une hausse de rentabilité significative.

Winnow a pour l’heure été déployé dans plus de 200 cuisines, et a récemment élargi ses activités au continent asiatique. Marc Zornes, son fondateur et PDG, a déclaré : « Le problème du gaspillage alimentaire est mondial. Il coûte environ 53 milliards de livres sterling par an au secteur de la restauration dans les pays développés. Nous avons eu l’occasion, à maintes reprises, de constater qu’en faisant appel à la technologie pour mesurer les déchets, d’importantes économies peuvent être réalisées, tout en agissant pour l’environnement ».



Autres solutions

D’après Joris Depouillon, co-fondateur de FSE Network, un réseau qui met en relation les entrepreneurs sociaux engagés dans la lutte contre le gaspillage alimentaire, il existe de nombreuses solutions innovantes pour réduire le gaspillage alimentaire dans le secteur : « What the Food, par exemple, est une application mise au point par des étudiants en France. Elle leur permet de choisir le plat qui leur sera servi le lendemain au restaurant universitaire, donnant alors la possibilité à l’établissement de mieux anticiper les quantités ».

Une autre solution consiste à s’attaquer au gaspillage alimentaire en aval. Equo Evento (Italie) et Le Chainon Manquant (France) récupèrent ainsi les surplus alimentaires lors d’événements pour les redistribuer à des organisations à vocation sociale. Il existe également des associations qui aident les consommateurs à réduire leurs déchets alimentaires. Trop Bon Pour Gaspiller entend donner un nouvel élan au « doggy bag » en France afin d’emporter ses restes après un diner au restaurant. L’association distribue des boîtes éco-conçues aux restaurants et aide les consommateurs à identifier les restaurants partenaires.

Ces solutions apparaissent comme précurseurs d’une véritable révolution en matière de gaspillage alimentaire, qui reste un enjeu majeur pour le secteur de la restauration. Les solutions qui fonctionnent doivent être répliquées, tant par les nouvelles start-ups que par les entreprises traditionnelles, et l’innovation dans le secteur doit se poursuivre!


Pour aller plus loin avec Future of Waste

Pour aller plus loin, vous pouvez contribuer à l’émergence de ces solutions en participant avec Makesense et Future of Waste à la résolution des défis des entrepreneurs ou prendre part aux débats de la COP21 sur la plateforme de Voxe.org.

Ecrit par:
Joris Depouillon – Food Surplus Entrepreneurs Network
Will Nicholson – IntoFood





Vous aimerez aussi